Warm & Fuzzies: Life in a Small Town

This is my fourth year as the chairperson for Christmas Opening in Buena Vista, Colorado.  I don’t meant to go on and on about it in my blog, but it truly is an event dear to my heart.  I think about it, conspire and plan all year.  I may be the only one!   I have fond memories of Christmas on the Square in Belleville, Kansas, my hometown.  I never dreamed that I would have such a big role in creating some of those same memories for the families in my now-hometown of Buena Vista, Colorado, but I hope that those who come year after year, or visit for the first time have the same warm and fuzzy memories.

Of course, things change here from year to year, but all in all, I think that we have created a tradition for our town that is rich in history and traditions.  Some things change every year, such as the different events around town, but then some things remain the same.  Santa will still arrive in town by wagon once again, and leave town in the fire truck.  The steadfast and popular Chocolate Walk and the Chili Cookoff will be back for another appearance this year too.  Of course the participants are forever changing.

Since I took on this project, I have wanted to see a Community Tree and last year the BV Beautification Board brought in a real tree.  They petitioned the Town of Buena Vista to purchase an artificial tree that will go up at the Optimist Splash Park each year hereafter.  It’s a great way to end the day which is fraught with excitement and expectations.  The fire truck will stop just so Santa can get off and flip the switch to turn on the the tree lights which will take us through the holiday season.

We have had several twists and turns to navigate, but as we are coming down to the final hours, it is exciting to see it all come together.  New this year, Reach Air Medical Services will start the Parade of Lights with the helicopter flying the parade route.  Way to go Buena Vista – start the Christmas Season out right!

christmas-opening-schedule-page-1

christmas-opening-schedule-page-2

schedule-of-event-updated

Leave a Reply

